The 10-series “recipe”

If you are reading this blog, you may already know that, typically, the Rolf Method of Structural Integration includes 10 sessions. Over the 10 sessions, various areas of the body are addressed. The first and last sessions are somewhat more general or broad. The remaining sessions usually alternate between the lower half of the body (legs) and upper half (trunk or head/shoulders). See my website, which has a page on the 10 series for more.

One question some people have is how a person’s unique structure is addressed if this work follows a standardized “recipe” of 10 sessions. My answer is that the framework of the 10 sessions simply provides a baseline and a sequence that is a starting point for the work. Sometimes, following that format is sufficient. However, customization may be useful to help address injuries or postural habits that become evident as the work proceeds. Any given session may vary from the basic framework depending on the client’s needs. My goal is to listen to and work with clients to the best of my ability to improve their physical comfort and movement.

Our thoughts, daydreams and images of our work, and ourselves at work, are major factors in determining the outcome of what we do as we work. — Michael Stanborough, from “Direct Release Myofascial Technique: An Illustrated Guide for Practitioners.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s